CCD 2016 Legislative ACTION ALERT

posted on 2016-03-21 8:41 pm

We are up against another deadline at the Capitol and we need your help. All bills originating in the other house must pass out of committee by Tuesday to stay alive this year. Thanks to your actions so far, the Mississippi Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Act (SB 2607) passed the senate and is now waiting for action in the House Public Health and Human Services Committee. It has to pass this committee by Tuesday, March 22 (tomorrow) or it will be dead.

WE NEED YOU TO CALL or EMAIL MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE and ask them to vote YES on SB 2607. Click the link below to read the bill.

If passed, the ABLE Act will allow individuals with disabilities to establish tax-free savings accounts to be used for qualified expenses without affecting their eligibility for public programs such as Medicaid and SSI (Supplemental Security Income). 

You can call the Capitol switchboard at 601-359-3770 or send an email to members of the Public Health and Human Services Committee by clicking their email in the table below. When you contact Chairman Sam Mims, ask him to make sure the bill comes up for a vote in the committee.

Sam C. Mims, V, Chairman

smims@house.ms.gov

Chris Johnson, Vice-Chairman

chjohnson@house.ms.gov

Shane Aguirre

saguirre@house.ms.gov

Nick Bain

nbain@house.ms.gov

Toby Barker

tbarker@house.ms.gov

Christopher Bell

cbell@house.ms.gov

C. Scott Bounds

sbounds@house.ms.gov

Chris Brown

crbrown@house.ms.gov

Cedric Burnett

cburnett@house.ms.gov

Larry Byrd

lbyrd@house.ms.gov

Bryant W. Clark

bclark@house.ms.gov

Deborah Butler Dixon

ddixon@house.ms.gov

Jarvis Dortch

jdortch@house.ms.gov

Dan Eubanks

deubanks@house.ms.gov

Jeffery S. Guice

jguice@house.ms.gov

Joey Hood

jhood@house.ms.gov

Mac Huddleston

mhuddleston@house.ms.gov

Doug McLeod

dmcleod@house.ms.gov

Nolan Mettetal

nmettetal@house.ms.gov

Orlando Paden

opaden@house.ms.gov

Brent Powell

bpowell@house.ms.gov

Noah Sanford

nsanford@house.ms.gov

Omeria Scott

 

Bobby Shows

bshows@house.ms.gov

Kathy Sykes

ksykes@house.ms.gov

Brad Touchstone

btouchstone@house.ms.gov

Percy W. Watson

pwatson@house.ms.gov

Jason White

jwhite@house.ms.gov

Adrienne Wooten

adrienneahooper@yahoo.com

This bill MUST pass the senate by Tuesday, March 22 or it will be dead. That is tomorrow. PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL NOW!
 

Thank you,

Pam Dollar, Executive Director

Coalition for Citizens with Disabilities